Akoori – Scrambled Eggs Bawa Style

DSC03375

Summer is leaving me‼… it makes me sad to see the sun go down so quickly.

It’s a Sunday afternoon, the day I hate most of all. I am hovering around in my kitchen trying to find something summery to fill in my belly at dinner tonight.

At home my dad would have dialed the cooks in the kitchen and said “baby ke liye toasty banao.”

For my Gora friends that translates ‘make a grilled sandwich for my little one.’

But, on a day that I was feeling like the way I am feeling today my daddy would go into the kitchen himself and make me a special fry…

What’s a special fry?

It’s a fried egg with so many rules and regulations that I don’t have the audacity to make without the master himself by my side and hopefully on my next trip home I will have some pictures to show you…

So in my dilemma and me missing my dada like crazy I have no choice but to make an alternate.

Mind you, while the special fry is my favorite, the Akoori is my dad’s and I can’t wait for him to be here so I can cook for him again.

Akoori is a Parsi specialty, spiced scrambled eggs with onions and coriander leaves and a ton of love.

Yes, a ton of love is the real special ingredient you need when you are working with eggs. A few seconds here and they aren’t quite there and a few seconds more and my darlings, I am sorry to say you’ve lost the plot completely.

 

Ingredients:-

  • Eggs – 4 scrambled in a bowl with a little salt
  • Onions – 1 chopped
  • Kashmiri Chili Powder – ½ Tsp.
  • Haldi/Turmeric Powder – !/2 Tsp.
  • Tomato – 1 chopped
  • Green Chili – 1 chopped
  • Garlic – 2 finely chopped
  • Coriander Leaves – to garnish

 

Method

  • Fry the garlic and the chilies in a little oil.
  • Add the onions and fry till golden
  • Onions
  • Add the Haldi and Chili powder and let that cook on an open flame for a few minutes
  • DSC03366
  • When the onion and spices are dry add the chopped tomatoes and continue to cook till the tomatoes are soft and well blended into the dish
  • DSC03367
  • Slowly add the eggs into the mixture and reduce heat stirring continuously to make sure no lumps form.
  • Add the coriander leaves.
  • DSC03368
  • Once you have brought the eggs to the consistency you like pull it off the hot stove.
  • DSC03371
  • Serve with cheese and ham. My favorite pairing  is Mini Babybel Cheese and  “The Maple Glazed Boars Head Ham”.
  • DSC03373
  • Enjoy.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Akoori – Scrambled Eggs Bawa Style

  1. ParsiCuisine.com September 15, 2013 at 9:41 PM Reply

    Hi, how are you, did you know about http://www.zagba.org? Zoroastrian Association of the greator boston area. We have a gahambar in october.
    Best regards,
    Rita

    • laishacooper September 21, 2013 at 12:19 PM Reply

      Hi Rita,
      Thank you for that information. I had no idea I think a gahambar in October will be very exciting I will definitely look it up and be there

Leave a comment